top of page

week 22

after another group meeting where we were assigned a new checklist of assets as we all have been able to keep to schedule and make the corridor look awesome. This week I have been tasked with creating a bench and the chest of drawers, and following from last week's success I have been able to keep to this deadline finish both assets and completely textured.

First of all I managed to fully texture my assets from last week using those in which I agreed this week, the program I used is substance designer and up until this week I never knew how much of a powerful program it actually is. I seem to have a bit of an affinity with this program, I'm able to create realistic and high quality textures using a simple node based work flow with relatively short amount of time. This week I created a wood, metal, and wax texture with correlating PBR texture maps as well, luckily for me all of my assets share the same wood and metal textures.

My group wanted the chest of drawers to have a similar style to my bookcase so I used this to my advantage and actually used the bookshelf model, shrunk it down and filled out the shelves with drawers, this was a fairly quick process which produced a asset that had already been unwrapped. So far this is my favourite use with normal maps everything went as expected and compared to the ability of my sentry guns normal maps I'm highly impressed to see how far I have come.

The bench was fairly simple to create I didn't have to put too much work into the modelling, most of the elements to this model were easily replicated and the angular shape of every part made it easy in the under wrap process; I really love how the wood and metal complements each other in this asset. In order to drawback some of the poly count that had arisen within my bookshelf I had made the indents on the bench as normal map, which is a bit risky to have on such a large surface but, but the bench itself would be to low down for the player to see whether or not it is actually part of the topology.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page